Shopping Cart

De La Soul Official Store

Stakes is High - 2LP

Stakes is High is the 4th studio album by De La Soul, released on July 2, 1996. Stakes is High was critically lauded for its music, lyricism, and its overall message concerning the artistic decline rap music began to face in the mid-90s. The title track and first single was produced by J Dilla and the album's second single, "Itzsoweezee (HOT)", with only Dave on vocals, was accompanied by a creative music video. The album spawned a third single "4 More", featuring Zhane. The album did provide a launching pad for future star rappers and actors Mos Def, who appeared on the track "Big Brother Beat" and Common who is featured on "The Bizness".

A1. Intro
A2. Supa Emcees
A3. The Bizness
A4. Yunonstop
A5. Wonce Again Long Island
B1. Dinninit
B2. Brakes
B3. Dog Eat Dog
B4. Baby, Baby, Baby, Baby, Ooh Baby
B5. Long Island Degrees

C1. Betta Listen
C2. Itzsoweezee (HOT)
C3. 4 More
C4. Big Brother Beat
D1. Down Syndrome
D2. Pony Ride
D3. Stakes Is High
D4. Sunshine

Limited to 4 per customer.