Shopping Cart

De La Soul Official Store

AOI: Bionix - 2LP

AOI: Bionix is De La Soul's sixth full-length album, released on December 4, 2001. The first single, "Baby Phat" featuring Yummy Bingham and Devin the Dude, was an ode to larger sized women. Elsewhere, "Held Down", featuring Cee-Lo, found Posdnuos in an introspective mood as he mused on fatherhood, religion, and fame. Slick Rick also made an appearance on "What We Do (For Love)"; a humorous song about puberty and sexual discovery. The album featured skits with a character by the name of Reverend Do Good, which worked as social commentary as well as the intros and outros of the songs. The final Reverend Do Good skit acts as one final advertisement for Ghost Weed as heard on De La Soul's previous album, Art Official Intelligence: Mosaic Thump. A mischievous teenager takes a hit of the substance, then morphs into Slum Village frontman J Dilla, who provides the intro and outro to the marijuana-themed song "Peer Pressure" (which he also produced).

A1. Intro
A2. Bionix
A3. Baby Phat
A4. Simply
A5. Simply Havin'
B1. Held Down
B2. Rev. Do Good #1
B3. Watch Out
B4. Special
B5. Rev. Do Good #2

C1. The Sauce
C2. Am I Worth You?
C3. Pawn Star
C4. What We Do (For Love)
D1. Rev. Do Good #3
D2. Peer Pressure
D3. It's American
D4. Trying People

Limited to 4 per customer.